Creative BC News

2016 Cedric Literary Award Winners Announced

Oct 25, 2016 | News, Uncategorized

The Cedric Literary Awards presented $3,000 each to three mature and emerging unpublished BC writers. The winners are:

  • Joel Scott, of Chemainus, for his work of fiction titled “Jack”;
  • First Nations writer Sidney Harris, of Victoria, for his story “Morning Song’s Legacy”;
  • Beth Hawkes, of Salt Spring Island, for her work of creative non-fiction titled “Seasons”.

In the poetry category, two poets were singled out for special commendation.  Michelle Doege, of Vernon, and Lynne Mustard, of Victoria.

The Award will include writers from BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan and the Yukon in the 2017 Call for Submissions as a first step to expanding the competition to the rest of Canada by 2020. Future award programs will include senior-to-senior mentorship, writer coaching and editing.